Sampling of Collection Material

Invasive sampling is the sampling of tissue for molecular and chemical studies (isotopes, radiocarbon dating, DNA, proteomics, ZooMS, etc.), the irreversible coating or mounting of bones for SEM images, the preparation of histological sections and other methods in which animal remains are irreversibly altered or destroyed.

Requests for invasive sampling shall be made in writing to the Director and Curator of SPM using this form. Decisions on applications are taken twice a year. The deadlines are:

  • Submission by April 1st of the year: The applicant receives the decision in June of the same year.
  • Submission by October 1st of the year: The applicant receives the decision in December of the same year.
Application Invasive Sampling

The request must be submitted to the director and the curator of the SPM by mail or e-mail.

For externally funded projects

If the applicants intend to raise research funds for the analysis of SPM material, permission for sampling must be applied for prior to submission of the application for grants, together with a scientific justification. The application for sampling must be accompanied by the complete application for funding. It is only permitted to include SPM material in applications for funding if the applicant has received written confirmation from SPM. A retroactive permission for destructive sampling is generally excluded (with the exception of 14C dating, if it becomes necessary to radiocarbondate single specimens). SPM must be listed as a cooperation partner in funding applications. In the case of archaeological finds, those pieces to be sampled must first be documented photographically and archaeozoologically in OssoBook (taxonomic identification, standard measurements, weight, taphonomic details etc.), where required also the complete unit. If necessary, the applicants are required to raise the funds for these procedures. The permission for sampling is inevitably linked to the project and by no means transferable to subsequent projects. In the case of further sampling, applicants need to apply for a sampling permission anew.

For dissertations

Provided the sampling is to be carried out by graduate students (working on their bachelor’s, master’s or doctoral thesis), the application must be submitted to us by their academic supervisor.

Rare specimens

Regarding rare specimens, we reserve the right to refuse sampling. As a rule, the sample must be taken at the SPM. In exceptional cases, collection material is also sent to the applicant, for example for SEM imaging. In these cases, the researcher must return the specimen in their new form such as histological sections and otherwise modified (e.g. by coating or mounting). In the case of archaeological materials, the specimens to be sampled must first be documented photographically and recorded following our standard archaeozoological protocol including for example standard measurements following von den Driesch 1976 (A guide to the measurement of animal bones from archaeological sites. Peabody Museum Bulletin 1. Cambridge MA), bone weight, taphonomic variables. In the case of aDNA analyses of valuable materials, we reserve the right to have the extraction carried out in the aDNA lab facilities of the LMU Munich.

In the case of aDNA analyses, all amplified sequences of SPM specimens are to be made publicly accessible, e.g. at EMBL, GenBank or similar web-based storage locations, within a period of time fixed in the Material Transfer Agreement (MTA). Unpublished sequences must be provided upon request.

If the application is approved, the applicant will be granted approval in writing. Details such as approved sample size, documentation standards, dates, legal obligations are outlined in the MTA, which is signed by both parties prior to sampling.

Beprobung von Sammlungsmaterial

Unter invasiver Beprobung verstehen wir: die Entnahme von Material für molekulare und chemische Untersuchungen (Isotope, Radiokarbondatierung, DNS, Proteomics, ZooMS u.a.), die irreversible Bestäubung von Knochen für REM-Aufnahmen, das Anfertigen von histologischen Schnitten und andere Methoden, bei denen tierische Reste unwiederbringlich verändert oder zerstört werden.

Anfragen zur invasiven Beprobung sind in schriftlicher Form an den Direktor und die Kuratorin der SPM über das unten stehende Formblatt zu stellen. Über die Anträge wird zweimal jährlich entschieden. Die Fristen hierfür sind:

  • Einreichung bis zum 1. April des Jahres: Der Antragsteller erhält die Entscheidung im Juni des gleichen Jahres.
  • Einreichung bis zum 1. Oktober des Jahres: Der Antragsteller erhält die Entscheidung im Dezember des gleichen Jahres.
Antrag auf Beprobung

Der Antrag ist beim Direktor und der Kuratorin der SPM auf dem Postweg oder per E-Mail einzureichen.

Für Drittmittelprojekte

Sollen für die Analyse des SPM-Materials Drittmittel eingeworben werden, ist vor dem Einreichen des Drittmittelantrages die Erlaubnis zur Beprobung zu beantragen, zusammen mit einer wissenschaftlichen Begründung. Dem Antrag auf Beprobung muss der vollständige Drittmittelantrag beigefügt werden. Es ist nur erlaubt Material der SPM in Drittmittelanträgen aufzuführen, wenn dem Antragsstellenden eine schriftliche Bestätigung der SPM vorliegt. Eine rückwirkende Erlaubnis zur destruktiven Beprobung ist in der Regel (mit Ausnahme von 14C, wenn im Projektverlauf die Notwendigkeit für die Einzeldatierung eines Objektes oder weniger Objekte entsteht) ausgeschlossen. Die SPM ist bei Drittmittelanträgen als Kooperationspartner aufzuführen. In Fall von archäologischem Fundgut sind mindestens die zu beprobenden Stücke zuvor photographisch und archäozoologisch in OssoBook zu dokumentieren (taxonomische Identifizierung, Standardmaße, Gewicht, taphonomische Details etc.), gegebenenfalls auch der gesamten Fundeinheiten. Die Kosten dafür sind miteinzuwerben. Die Erlaubnis zur Beprobung ist zwangsläufig projektgebunden und keineswegs auf Folgeprojekte übertragbar. Im Falle einer weiterführenden Beprobung muss erneut eine Genehmigung eingeholt werden.

Für Abschlussarbeiten

Für den Fall, dass die Beprobung durch Abschlusskandidaten (für Bachelor-, Master- oder Doktorarbeit) durchgeführt werden soll, ist der Antrag durch den akademischen Betreuer bei uns einzureichen.

Seltene Exemplare

Im Falle von sehr seltenen Exemplaren behalten wir uns die Verweigerung der Beprobung vor. Die Beprobung hat in der Regel an der SPM zu erfolgen. In seltenen Fällen wird auch Sammlungsgut an den Antragssteller verschickt wie etwa für REM-Aufnahmen. In diesen Fällen sind die Stücke in ihrer neuen Form als histologische Schnitte und anderweitig verändert (z.B. durch Bestäuben) an die SPM zurückzusenden. In Fall von archäologischem Fundgut müssen die zu beprobenden Stücke zuvor photographisch und schriftlich dokumentiert werden (z.B. Standardmaße nach von den Driesch 1976 (Das Vermessen von Tierknochen aus vor- und frühgeschichtlichen Siedlungen. München), Gewicht, taphonomische Details).

Bei Alt-DNS-Analysen wertvoller Materialien behalten wir uns vor, die Extraktion im Alt-DNS-Labor der LMU München durchführen zu lassen. Bei Alt-DNS-Untersuchungen sind alle amplifizierten Sequenzen aus SPM-Material innerhalb eines vertraglich festgelegten Zeitraums öffentlich zugänglich zu machen, z.B. bei EMBL, GenBank oder ähnlichen web-basierten Speicherorten. Unpublizierte Sequenzen sind auf Anfrage mitzuteilen.

Bei Befürwortung des Antrags wird dem Antragssteller die Bewilligung schriftlich erteilt. Details wie genehmigter Probenumfang, Dokumentationsstandards, Zeitrahmen, rechtliche Verpflichtungen werden in einem Vertrag (Material Transfer Agreement – MTA) geregelt, den beide Parteien vor der Beprobung unterzeichnen.